The Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road

To qualify for an ADR vocational training certificate, drivers must undertake a course of training at a centre approved by the Department of Transport and pass the examinations relevant to the class/classes of dangerous goods to be carried.

There are two routes to a Vocational Training Certificate that we at College (UK) offer. The minimum number of components required, in order to qualify is as follows:


  Route 1:

Core Module Examinations pass, plus Tank module examination pass and/or Packages module, plus at least one 'class specific' examination pass.


  Route 2:

Suitable for those attending a course leading to all of Classes 2 to 6, 8 and 9



Core module examination pass, plus Tank module examination pass and/or Packages module examination pass, plus Classes Common Characteristics examination pass, plus Classes Group A examination pass (classes 2,3,6 and 8) and/ or Classes Group B examination pass (classes 4,5 and 9)

If a driver undertakes refresher training for components which were not listed on the original Vocational Training Certificate, these additional components will be marked as failed. Any new Vocational Training Certificate will not include these components.

    There are nine UN Classes of Dangerous Goods  
  Class 1
Class 2
Class 3
Class 4
Class 5
Class 6
Class 7
Class 8
Class 9
Flammable Liquids
Flammable Solids
Oxidizing Substances & Organics-Peroxides
Toxic and Infectious Substances
Radio Actives
Corrosive Substances
Miscellaneous Substances
  Hazardous Awareness Training in the dangers from chemical products  

Previously the Carraige of Dangerous Goods/ADR Regulations had an exemption for drivers of vehicles not exceeding 3.5 tonne. This exemption to carry goods without an ADR Certificate was withdrawn and all drivers carrying hazardous goods, whatever the size of vehicle are now included within the regulations and are required to sit a mandatory training course.